MusicACT AGM Marks the Start of a Bright Future

MusicACT held its Annual General Meeting at the Civic Hotel last Tuesday 11 November 2014. In his report, President Gavin Findlay noted that it had been an exciting but challenging year, with two major successful projects in the 2013 MusicACT Annual Music Awards and the PlayitLoud Youth Battle of the Bands for the Centenary of Canberra. However with several core committee members moving on and financial support not secured, the difficult decision has been taken to postpone the next ACT Music Awards until the second half of 2015. A full announcement about the awards will be made soon.

The decision to postpone the awards has however allowed MusicACT more time to focus on our other key objective: advocacy and policy development for the music sector. We have been working closely with John Wardle from the national Live Music Office and have held two issues forums to identify the most pressing problems and impediments to the growth of the music industry in Canberra. We have developed strong relationships with relevant ACT Government Ministers and agencies and they are listening to us. It is abundantly clear that the current legislative and regulatory framework actively works against creating new cultural events and venues for music in Canberra, and we have made a compelling case for a whole of government response. A meeting with Attorney-General Minister for the Environment Simon Corbell MLA has already been scheduled for the new year.

MusicACT is pleased to announce two new committee members who bring a wealth of talent and expertise: nationally regarded audio engineer Dax Liniere and Luke Wensing, who has been a mainstay of several community music organisations since the 1990s. The full committee elected is:

President: Gavin Findlay
Vice President: Dave Caffery
Treasurer: Daria Teodorowych
Secretary: Emily Allen
Dax Liniere
Angus Souter
Luke Wensing
Anna Wallace